Occasionally my mom would indulge us by tossing in a handful of chocolate chips, which, at that young age, was just about the most exciting thing ever. In my naive little breakfast world, I was happy. But as I grew up, I was introduced to a whole new world of adult pancakes—recipes that broke away from the standard, super-sweet trap of maple syrup and celebrated the flavor of the pancake itself, something I’d always held in the highest regard. I was seduced by crepes, soufflé pancakes, and buckwheat flapjacks fried in bacon fat. My all-time favorite, though, became the Dutch baby.

What Is a Dutch Baby?

For those new to the concept of a Dutch baby, it’s a pancake that is baked in a single sizzling-hot skillet that has been prepared with a tablespoon or two of butter. The sides of the pancake rise high above edges of the pan, creating a light, puffy crust with a tender, eggy middle. Sprinkled with cinnamon and lemon juice, the Dutch baby makes a wonderful breakfast for both kids and adults. Blend until you have a smooth, creamy batter. This should take about 30 seconds. Be sure to scrape down the sides of the blender carafe with a rubber spatula if necessary. Pour the remaining 2 tablespoons of melted butter in the pan and swirl to coat the bottom of the pan. Gently pour the batter into the hot skillet, making sure not to splatter batter all over the sides of the pan. To serve, cut into wedges and sprinkle with powdered sugar (and more cinnamon if you wish) and a splash of lemon juice. Great topped with berries or fruit!