How to Cook Corn on the Cob in the Microwave

After a few minutes on high, you remove the corn from the microwave, cut off the bottom, and cleanly slip off the husk and silk. Perfectly cooked corn with no mess! This I had to see for myself. You know what? It works! It is probably not the most efficient way to cook corn if you are cooking more than a couple of ears. In that case, it’s faster and easier to steam or boil. But since I’m often cooking for one, and I have the patience of a hummingbird, I like the idea of quickly cooking one ear of corn in the microwave. Watch how here.

Why You Should Cook Corn on the Cob in the Husks

I also like cooking the corn in its husk. Cooked this way, the corn steams in its own juices and absorbs flavor from the husks, resulting in a wonderful, undiluted corn taste. If your corn is farm fresh, you don’t even need butter. (But don’t let me stop you!) Note that every microwave is different. If this timing over-cooks the corn in your microwave, reduce it to 2 to 3 minutes the next time. That’s it! How do you like your corn? Tell us about it in the comments!